RSS

TEATRO COLON – STORY 8

22 Sep

Hello passionate readers,

Back to the city, where I have been soaking up a bit of color, culture, beauty and sun, I have to reiterate here that this place is phenomenal!

I started my day today with the real intention of concentrating on other things than jewelry, bags and clothing.

I left home aiming to be overindulged with ”DOMES, TOWERS, FACADES and PORTALS spiced up with a clove of NEO-CLASSIC and a drop of RENAISSANCE. Yummy!

To make my friend Werner very happy I paid a visit at the TEATRO COLON as my first destination, followed by the visit at the TEATRO CERVANTES and a brief but intense visit at a PASTELERIA (bakery) and think of him during my encounter with one of those mouth watering POSTRES (PASTRIES)

I was actually looking forward to marking my territory at the most famous and classy opera house in Argentina, where ballet and classical recitals are also played but when I approached the entrance and I was given the bold news that :

IT IS CLOSED until March sorry!

I was firstly a bit taken back but then after several rejected attempts of co-operation from the staff members I decided that I HAD TO GET TO THIS BLOODY THEATRE no matter what, especially because every five minutes there was someone getting in and it wasn´t me.

Who are these people then? –  if it is really closed. The tired employee was hiding excitement by informing me, with a frustrating monotone voice, that they were people working in the theatre.

BOHHHHHH*. I would say in Italian, as the national sound of puzzlement.

“Never talk to the plebs!” I have learnt from experience in my life. ” Go straight to the top!”.

Obviously the guards were pretty obedient by following the orders given from above, but my job in fact was to wait for the ABOVE to rock up and schmooze him nicely and sneak in.

That´s what happened to Fede.

I must be honest, I felt a bit “Mafiosa” on the way to achieve my goal, since I had to call the snazzy mustached striped suit man in charge of the place, on the side , and beg him to “maak ´n´plan (for my Afrikaans readers) for me.

He arranged an appointment at 3pm sharp tomorrow at the main entrance and I have to ask for him specifically, Trimarco Enrique and I CANNOT be LATE and hopefully there are no drugs involved. It sounds like a obscure-dodgy deal.

Werner, the theatre, better be good, my friend!

Once I got to the other TEATRO (CERVANTES) I knew already how to operate. I took my sunglasses off, put the camera and the guide in the bag, put on and Argentinean face and got in, mingling with 3 ladies with a badge.

I saw the Valencia tiles, the Madrid textiles, the Seville glassware and the red Tarragon flagstones as per my guidebook.

After that, I entered a “pasteleria” (bakery) and had my “postre” (pastry) as planned (membrillo with crema pastelera) and jumped back onto the vibrant cobbled streets of this postcard -friendly city, which feels MINE for the time being.

……..the following day……

Buongiorno Argentina,

I still have a lot to unfold here and updates to be delivered to my fervent readers.

The 3 pm SHARP appointment with “el Señor Enrique Trimanco” at the main entrance of the TEATRO COLON DID happen, despite a few complications.

I was 5 minutes late due to my lingering at the gracious park of LAVALLE where I was enjoying observing life in the slow lane without time concerning me.

I also waited for him at the wrong entrance and when he eventually arrived , after having to be called by the security (yes I did move the world to get inside this iconic theatre) he showed nervousness and a bit of impatience since he planned the whole “operation” in detail including my reaction if caught out.

I would have had to say that I was there for an interview.

ROBA DA MATTI I as my first reaction in Italian. Out of this world.

I had no idea that this guy was risking so much to let me in. WHY was he doing it for me?

Do Argentinean men like putting themselves at risk for the sake of being polite? Or just for the sake of accompanying an exuberant Italian woman meandering in the most famous Porteño theatre?

POR FAVOR. (please).

I forgot my pepper spray at home but I was confident that Enrique Trimarco was not like the “RAIN MAN WEIRDO” from the other day and he was doing all that just because I AM A WOMAN and I simply ASKED KINDLY. Finish and Klaar! *.

The visit was short but superb. I could see a strong resemblance with the TEATRO LA SCALA in Milan and it will be a precious memory of my Argentina trip.

Thanks Enrique. You have been a good man and I wish you to reconnect one day to the residual part of your Italian ancestors from the Trimarco family in Torino.

And I will leave you tonight with an EVITA PERON quote

“To convince oneself that one has the right to live decently takes time”

Hasta prontissimo (see you soon)

RICA

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 22, 2012 in Buenos Aires 2009

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment